3WW – Dreary, Embrace, Timid

Here is a submission for Three Word Wednesday, the words this week are DREARY, EMBRACE, and TIMID.

The fog arrived earlier than usual, rolling across the rusty bridge in a dreary embrace. I shuddered, pulling my jacket tighter to my chest, and crossed with timid steps.

“Leave me alone.” The raspy voice startled me still. I crouched into my hips and peered at the shadowed figure ahead.

“I brought you something.” I squatted, set down the brown bag as far as my arm could stretch. The bottles made an echoless clink on the ground. I took two steps backward, turned, retreated.

Some say it’s enabling, but what else is supposed to keep him warm on a night like this?

17 Comments

  1. anthonynorth said,

    May 27, 2009 at 8:05 am

    Some things, though, make you too warm. Nicely done.

  2. pia said,

    May 27, 2009 at 8:25 am

    Thanks for the suggestion. Will use it My brain wasn’t really awake then

  3. Sepiru Chris said,

    May 27, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Dear Bliss Happens,

    I started off with Carl Sandberg rolling between my ears and ended up with Charles Bukowski.

    I especially like the “crouched into my hips” and then the squat, and then the careful offering and the very careful retreat.

    You carried me willingly, and I ended up somewhere very different from where I thought I was going. The pleasures of hitchhiking, complete with the fear and uncertainty.

    I enjoyed this.

    Thank you.

    Tschuess,
    Chris

    • blisshappens said,

      May 28, 2009 at 8:52 am

      Thank you Chris!

  4. ThomG said,

    May 27, 2009 at 8:50 am

    Ooooh, creepy, intense, brooding. A great read and not so much a twist as a feeling. Gold Star, really.

  5. May 27, 2009 at 11:54 am

    I enjoyed this very much. It has a bit of brooding mystery and a strong heart. Sharing food with the homeless isn’t an enabling act it’s a kind act and an example many should follow. Well done. Have a nice day.

    • blisshappens said,

      May 27, 2009 at 8:04 pm

      Thanks Michelle, I made a small change to clarify what was in the brown bag. Not very nutritious I’m afraid!

  6. Tumblewords said,

    May 27, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Strong piece – a shiver and more –

  7. May 27, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    The shortness enhances the feeling..

    Great work, Meg!

    timid embrace forces out dreary thoughts

  8. zouxzoux said,

    May 27, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    I totally read the offering as alcohol. I can only imagine doing that to a relative who is beyond redemption and refuses help. Sad, really. A very good story that makes ya think. Very provacative.

  9. Jeeves said,

    May 27, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    I read and reread. Like this one a lot.

  10. Andy said,

    May 28, 2009 at 2:49 am

    I guess you could try a blanket, but if he drinks enough of that stuff, I guess he won’t feel the cold – ’til he wakes up shivering.

    Cleverly written!

  11. pjd said,

    May 28, 2009 at 7:49 am

    That’s a tough one, especially after reading the one you did with dreamy. I’m imagining that newborn baby growing up to be drunk and homeless. And the offering of a comforting drink to both is an eerie and troubling parallel. There’s a story there, combining the two.

    • blisshappens said,

      May 28, 2009 at 8:51 am

      hmmm! didn’t even see that parallel! Interesting!

  12. lissa said,

    May 28, 2009 at 10:51 am

    fantasy mix with reality, that’s how I describe it, it’s very dreamlike

  13. lucy said,

    May 29, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    nicely conveyed, somehow I feel like this really happened and you did help a poor fellow out.
    good for u! 🙂

  14. sarah said,

    May 30, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    this is fabulous, and my own imagination could weave such a story around it – the narrator’s relationship with the man she helped – what got him there …
    it’s a great piece of writing to engage and encourage my imagination like that.


Leave a Reply

