Mother’s Day and Daily Haiku

Serendipity
The Universe’s humor
To make me ponder

I watched “What the Bleep” a few weeks ago, and paraphrased a quote from one of the scientists interviewed.

Every morning when he wakes up, he declares,

I am taking this time to consciously create my day the way I want it to happen.  Unexplainable things happen in surprising and unexpected ways.  I know these are the process or the result of my creation.  The more I do this the more I build a neuro-net in my brain to accept that it’s possible.  This gives me the power and incentive to do it the next day.

Having this conscious intention up front throughout the day provides me with amazing moments.  Many are humorous and light-hearted, like seeing the perfect vanity plate on the car in front of me, relevant to the day’s mood or events.

Yesterday morning I decided to make writing a haiku every day part of my writing practice.  Later on I found the perfect Mother’s Day card that I could not resist buying for myself.

momday haiku

This is one of those small things that happen, confirming my belief in the scientist’s statements.  And made me laugh so hard I almost peed my pants.

The most important aspect of this is the validation that other things are happening, things that take more reflection to recognize.  They are not as obvious, occuring perhaps in increments, but nonetheless of my making.  The right people coming into my life, the right books finding their way into my hands, the right websites, bloggers, and articles appearing and making a difference.

“The thought of an oak tree does not cause the instant formation of a full grown tree, but it does start in motion the forces that will produce the tree along the established lines of growth.” -Wallace D. Wattles.

My response is that of wonder, and occasionally jaw dropping amazement.  It is always with gratitude and quiet faith I recognize the bounty of the Universe.

So on this Mother’s Day, I celebrate the qualities that exemplify motherhood: a good sense of humor, an abundance of love, and incredible patience, the epitome of the Universe itself.

4 Comments

  1. floreta said,

    May 10, 2009 at 9:48 am

    i think the universe brought us to eachothers blogs. ;P lol
    fun read. i have yet to see what the bleep do we know but i’ve been sooo wanting to.

    • blisshappens said,

      May 10, 2009 at 10:07 am

      Well worth it! Hope you get to see it soon! XOXO

  2. pia said,

    May 10, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Truly beautiful and so true. The card was hysterical and i know some girls who wish they had found that one 🙂

    I was just thinking that I’m “worth” half of what I was 18 months ago yet I have enriched my life consciously and can’t believe the life I’m beginning to live.

    I think it takes time and much effort but after awhile remaining positive becomes a given–and god invented blogs to get out the small stupid stuff

    I’m very glad to be getting to know you Meg 🙂

    • blisshappens said,

      May 11, 2009 at 7:11 am

      It takes intention to stay positive, and holding that intention takes practice. Pia, I am so glad to be getting to know you too.


Leave a Reply

