3WW Cryptic, Malign, Flash

 

As my son got out of my car this morning at his high school I told him, as usual, have a good day.  His reply surprised me and I laughed out loud.

“I’m gonna BEAT the goodness out of this day!”

I smiled all the way to work, making eye contact with the road workers holding their SLOW signs silhouetted by the morning sun.  I like to wave and mouth a thank you to them.  Theirs is a thankless job, most drivers, annoyed with the construction delays, drive past as if the workers are invisible.  No one likes to feel invisible.

Almost always they flash me a smile and wave in return, and I feel like the world is a little lighter for a moment.

Beat the goodness out of the day.  That takes strength, courage and a twisted sort of optimism, don’t you think?  Bliss Chuck Norris style.

Recognizing and appreciating these moments are of extreme importance.

I have a breast biopsy a week from today (so please pray that next week’s words are benign, curable, and relief).  There is only a 20% chance that the calcification that appeared on my mammogram is malignant.  My scans are marked with circles and arrows, notations of some cryptic radiologist language.

I’m not panicked.  If anything, the news has afforded me a certain freedom, an ability to jerk things into perspective.  I made time to go to a Deeksha, or Oneness Blessing, up in Park City Monday night.  I felt uplifted and stronger, embraced in positive energy.  I expressed to a friend how my writing made me feel alive, in a state of grace, and how I wanted more and more moments like that.  Wanted to be immersed in that grace.

His reply was brilliant.

Every breath is grace, he said, after all, YOU don’t do it, it comes from somewhere else.  Every beat of your heart.  That’s grace.

And I realized that again, whenever I finally summon the bravery to articulate what I want, the universe replies that it exists right in front of me.

The lesson could not have come at a better time.  Every breath.  Every heartbeat.  Grace.

Yes indeedy.  Beat the goodness out of this day.

 

13 Comments

  1. ThomG said,

    May 6, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Please beat it for me, too. I know all too well the reach of cancer – and recovery. My thoughts will be with you next week (and the words will be benign, curable, and relief).

    • blisshappens said,

      May 7, 2009 at 6:23 am

      Thanks Thom, Really appreciate that!

  2. Jeeves said,

    May 6, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Thanks for this wonderful piece. There is so much to learn from this one post. Thanks. Take care.

  3. pjd said,

    May 6, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    I echo Thom’s thoughts. Your son’s reply is perfect. As is your friend’s. I’m hoping for good news for you next week.

  4. Andy Sewina said,

    May 7, 2009 at 3:45 am

    Wow! Amazing Grace!! my thoughts and prayers are with you…

  5. pia said,

    May 7, 2009 at 7:59 am

    My thoughts and hopes are with you too

    Mammagrams and follow up biopsies are something I know too well. They have always led to negative results and while I have always felt relief I have always felt resentment too as everything in NY takes forever, is in an old facilty and you have to wait wait wait.

    However I’m in a new place in all senses and yes every breath is grace. I believe that with all my heart and breath

    Wonderful piece

  6. May 7, 2009 at 7:59 am

    Sending you positive thoughts and energy. Hoping for good news.

  7. Angel said,

    May 7, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    I’ve said a prayer for you. I hope everything is fine when you get the results. And this was a wonderful piece of writing, too.

  8. Cam Williams said,

    May 8, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Hi Bliss Happens!
    I created and run the blog for Deeksha Utah, one of owners of the blog was asking me to post your words, awesome, you have so captured the message and so I took a look at what you were writing. very excellent we will picking you up on our RSS http://www.deekshautah.wordpress.com
    Blessings,
    Cam Williams
    http://www.marketingforgurus.com

    • blisshappens said,

      May 8, 2009 at 2:11 pm

      Thanks Cam, and thanks for your great work with the Deeksha Utah blog! -Meg

  9. May 8, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    […] may need this day! And may their life be full of your peace, prosperity, and […] Bliss Happens3WW Cryptic, Malign, Flash  As my son got out of my car this morning at his high school I told him, as usual, have a good […]

  10. pieceofpie said,

    May 9, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    what a beautiful blessing… on one likes to be invisible… pay it forward… to know every breath is filled with grace… puts everything into persective… moment by moment… thank you for the post… prayers lifted high that the healer and comforter be with you always…

    • blisshappens said,

      May 9, 2009 at 9:40 pm

      thank you so much.


Leave a Reply

